«MYTHBUSTERS»: gas cylinder - rocket

Each episode of popular scientific TV program «Mythbusters» is usually devoted to two popular myths. In one of new series of the program we’ll appeal to a legend about cylinder-rocket.

Is portable cylinder with propane able to rocket in the air like a real rocket?

Imagine that the shed with gas cylinders inflames. At the explosion a cylinder turns to a rocket: it breaks through the roof and shoots up for 50 meters. Experts-busters, Tory, Grant and Kari took up this myth to experimentally test it to its limits.

Cylinders with propane as all other cisterns under the pressure are equipped with insert valve wherethrough the excesses are bleed down in case of necessity. This put explosion possibility in doubt. Only if we create a fire of such power that gas will not be able to run into the valve.

Theoretically gas cylinder turns to a rocket in the following way: a cistern hits up, inside pressure grows up and the cistern finally explodes. Gas comes out and burns, consequently the cylinder flies up to the air.

Plan A.
Mythbusters created small shed where they installed the main star of the show – 10 liters cylinder with propane. To maintain the experimental integrity the fire was organized from usual firewood and coal. Burnt and started waiting.

Wooden shed turned to huge wood fire. At the temperature of 800 degrees the vales exploded but the cylinder didn’t even move. The valve diminished gas pressure faster than it could accumulate in the cistern. In fact, a real explosion didn’t occur, launching wasn’t succeeded.

So, a myth about the shed was spectacularly failed. Disproved! Conclusion: in usual conditions it’s not possible to get from a cylinder with propane flamy rocket strained to the air.

Plan B.
The busters decided to improve the experience – they replaced security valve by a cover. They started warming up closed cylinder by portable burner. Gas started expanding, cylinder – dangerously becoming round… Massive explosion blew the pieces of the cylinder to the four winds of heaven. Explosion wave blew out burners flame.

Plan C.
The busters weakened the body of the cylinder by a sink made in the bottom (an effect of old cistern). This time during explosion gas went around and above, cylinder was torn to pieces, but the vertical remained unbowed. And again no any rocket.

Plan D.
What if the cistern will be half empty?
What’s the dependence from propane power capacity?
There was installed a launching platform on the testing range. The cylinder was burned and little bit later there was made a shot to the bottom to create a nozzle… Launching was succeeded – the cistern rocketed into the air, a real rocket.

But it’s reasonable to remember that to do that there was necessary to create simulated conditions!

Which conclusions is it hard to escape after watching this program? We often hear an expression-complain: “gas exploded”. And we start to be instinctively scared of gas itself like crushing devil. The truth is, and the video demonstrates it well, that gas itself cannot explode a house (gas leaking and fulfillment of exact conditions might maximum create a fire). It’s not a gas which explodes but cylinder which is extremely forbidden to keep in the house! Domestic cylinder should be kept outside because when the fire occurs a cylinder explodes turning into a bomb.

That’s why gas tanks are installed under the ground at settled distance from the house; moreover, cisterns are equipped with security valves.

 
 
 
4469 
views
 
 
 


Cart  

No products

Total 0,00 €

Check out

Site Search

© 1998-2017 GC "Terrikom". All rights reserved.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Crediting
 X
Закажите обратный звонок

Наш сотрудник позвонит и ответит на ваши вопросы. Это быстро и бесплатно!

Заказать звонок

«Разрушители легенд»: газовый баллон – ракета

Каждый выпуск научно-популярной телепередачи «Разрушители легенд» обычно посвящён двум распространённым мифам. В одной из новых серий программы нас интересует легенда о баллоне-ракете.

Может ли переносной баллон с пропаном взлететь в небо как настоящая ракета?

Представьте, что загорелся сарай с газовым баллоном. При взрыве баллон превращается в ракету: пробивает крышу и взмывает вверх на 50 метров. Ведущие-разрушители – Тори, Грант и Кэрри – взялись экспериментально испытать на прочность этот миф.

Баллоны с пропаном, как и все остальные ёмкости под давлением, оснащены встроенным клапаном, через который, в случае чего, стравливается лишнее. Это ставило вероятность взрыва под сомнение. Разве что создать пожар такой силы, что газ не будет успевать выйти через клапан.

Теоретически газовый баллон превращается в ракету следующим образом: резервуар нагревается, давление внутри растёт, и, в конце концов, баллон взрывается. Газ выходит наружу и загорается, вследствие чего баллон взлетает в воздух.

План А.
Разрушители легенд соорудили небольшой сарай, где установили главную звезду шоу – 10-литровый баллон с пропаном. Для чистоты эксперимента пожар устроили из обычных дров и угля. Подожгли и стали ждать.

Деревянный сарайчик превратился в огромный костёр. При температуре в 800 градусов взорвался клапан, но баллон даже не пошевелился. Клапан ослаблял давление газа быстрее, чем оно успевало накапливаться в резервуаре. Настоящего взрыва, по сути, не состоялось, запуска ракеты не вышло.

Таким образом, миф о сарае с треском провалился. Опровергнут! Вывод: в обычных условиях из баллона с пропаном не получается рвущейся в небеса огненной ракеты.

План Б.
Разрушители решили усовершенствовать опыт – они заменили заглушкой клапан безопасности. Закупоренный баллон начали нагревать переносной горелкой. Газ начал расширяться, баллон – угрожающе округляться… Мощный взрыв разметал кусочки ёмкости в стороны. Взрывной волной задуло пламя горелки.

План В.
Разрушители ослабили корпус баллона, сделав выемку в днище (эффект старого резервуара). На этот раз при взрыве газ пошёл во все стороны, баллон разорвало на куски, а вертикаль осталась непокорённой. Снова никакой ракеты.

План Г.
А что если баллон будет наполовину пуст?
Какова зависимость от мощности пропана?
На полигоне установили пусковую установку. Баллон подожгли, и через какое-то время выстрелили в днище, чтобы образовалось сопло… Запуск удался – баллон взлетел вверх, точно ракета.

Правда стоит помнить, что для этого понадобилось создать искусственные условия!

Какие выводы напрашиваются после просмотра этой программы? Мы часто слышим выражение-жалобу: «газ взорвался». И начинаем подспудно бояться этого самого газа, словно демона разрушения. Правда в том, и это наглядно демонстрирует ролик, что газ, сам по себе, не может взорвать дом (при утечке и выполнении определённых условий – максимум создать пожар). Взрывается не газ, а баллон, который категорически запрещено хранить в доме! Бытовой баллон нужно хранить на улице, потому что при пожаре баллон взрывается, превращаясь в бомбу.

Именно поэтому газгольдеры устанавливаются под землёй, на установленном расстоянии от дома, плюс – резервуары для хранения газа оснащены клапанами безопасности.

 
 
 
4594 
просмотра
 
 
 


Корзина  

Нет продуктов

Всего 0,00 €

Оформить

Поиск по сайту

© 1998-2017 ГК "Терриком". Все права защищены.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Crediting
 X
Закажите обратный звонок

Наш сотрудник позвонит и ответит на ваши вопросы. Это быстро и бесплатно!

Заказать звонок