“MYTHBUSTERS”: DANGER OF GAS LIGHTERS

One-use lighter … what is this? Harmless flint or pocket danger in plastic box?

There are some myth exist about several circumstances when a simple lighter can harm or even kill a man. Experts from “Mythbusters” program were founding out if one-use lighter can explore if a slag, for example, will get inside it. Welding shop can be an ideal place to provoke accident with a lighter, can’t it?

There are three items are required to make an explosion: fuel, spark resource and oxygen. The legend says: if you burn through a lighter during welding works gas will outflow and the air together with high temperature will organize an explosion. Preparing this experiment Adam installed a box on metal bar and placed a burner with remote control next to it. This burner is a spark resource and resource of hot slag. The lighter was placed directly under the burner. What will happen to it?

Switched on burner has made a cascade of sparks. The first lighter began melting and burning, and gas came out and inflamed. The second lighter has explored – it flew away from test bench in beautiful fireball. The third lighter followed its footsteps.

In the second part of the program the lighter was tested in a drier. The lighter spent 1 hour in a drier cylinder heated to 70 °С – nothing happened. To provoke an explosion it will be enough to have heat and then a source of a spark. These factors didn’t present in the second experiment. The legend was destroyed.

In the next legend about lighters the busters checked if something terrible would happen after you swash the lighter with a brassy. After a series of experiments the experts of the program concluded that a swash of a lighter with the brassy can cause an explosion and fire.

One-use lighters have quit long list of precautions: don’t pierce, don’t set fire, don’t heat over 50 °С, don’t leave on the sun, and so on …. Can heated-up car provoke a catastrophe? It’s better to check! There was used a toaster as a control panel. As a result even at the highest temperature of the control panel the lighter didn’t explode. The lowest temperature to make the lighter melt and deflate is 150 °С. So, the myth hasn’t stood the test.

Then Adam and Jamie decided to launch an analogue of a man to the test with the burner. The legend didn’t stand the test. Only the clothes burnt from the slag but the lighter was calm and quiet. It’s completely impossible to die from it.

There is a following legend next in turn. A car was fulfilled with lighters (more than 500 pieces). A vacuum heater was placed above the lighters and turned on. The lighters started popping in strong heat, discharging gas and burning one by one. The busters stroke spark and the car fulfilled with fire; explosion crushed out rear window. This is an ideal reason to leave off smoking.

As a result: 500 lighters cause massive explosion if there is a source of a spark.

Conclusion: danger of one-use lighters, which present gas tanks in miniature, are greatly exaggerated, as well as fear of independent gasification. Myths remain myths.

They break down.

 
 
 
13674 
views
 
 
 


Cart  

No products

Total 0,00 €

Check out

Site Search

© 1998-2017 GC "Terrikom". All rights reserved.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Crediting
 X
Закажите обратный звонок

Наш сотрудник позвонит и ответит на ваши вопросы. Это быстро и бесплатно!

Заказать звонок

«Разрушители легенд»: опасность газовых зажигалок

Одноразовые зажигалки… что это? Безобидное огниво или карманная угроза в пластиковом корпусе?

Существуют мифы о ряде обстоятельств, в которых простая зажигалка травмирует человека взрывом, а то и вовсе убивает. Специалисты программы «Разрушители легенд» выясняли: может ли взорваться одноразовая зажигалка? Например, при попадании шлака. Сварочный цех может стать идеальным местом для происшествия с зажигалкой – так ли это?

Для взрыва требуются 3 вещи: горючее, источник искры и кислород. Легенда гласила: если во время сварки прожечь зажигалку, газ вытечет, а воздух и высокая температура организуют взрыв. Готовясь к опыту, Адам установил на ящике железный брус, а рядом положил горелку, управляемую на расстоянии. Горелка – источник искр и горячего шлака. Зажигалку положили прямо под горелкой. Как она себя поведёт?

Включённая горелка произвела каскад искр. Первая зажигалка начала плавиться, гореть, газ вышел наружу и загорелся. Вторая зажигалка взорвалась – в красивом огненном шаре улетела с испытательного стенда. Её примеру последовала третья.

Во второй части программы зажигалку проверяли в сушилке. В сушильном барабане, нагревшись до 70 °С, зажигалка провела целый час – и ничего. Для взрыва нужно достаточно жара, а затем источник искры. Во втором опыте этого не было. Легенда была разрушена.

В следующей легенде о зажигалках разрушители проверяли: случится ли что-нибудь страшное, если сильно ударить по зажигалке клюшкой для гольфа? После серии экспериментов специалисты программы пришли к выводу: удар по зажигалке клюшкой для гольфа чреват взрывом и пожаром.

К одноразовым зажигалкам предлагается длинный список предупреждений: не протыкать, не поджигать, не нагревать выше 50 °С, не оставлять на солнце…Станет ли прогретая машина причиной катастрофы? Надо проверить! Аналогом приборной панели выступил тостер. Результат: даже при максимальной температуре, до которой может нагреться приборная панель, – зажигалка не взрывается. Минимальная температура плавления зажигалки (что приводит к выходу газа) – 150 °С. Миф не выдержал проверки.

Затем Адам и Джейми решили ввести в испытания с горелкой аналог человека. Легенда не прошла тест. От горячего шлака загоралась одежда, а зажигалка вела себя тихо. Умереть от этого решительно невозможно.

На очереди – следующая легенда. Салон автомобиля наполнили зажигалками (более 500). Над зажигалками поместили вакуумный нагреватель, включили. На сильном жару зажигалки стали лопаться и выпускать газ, гореть одна за другой. Разрушители высекли искру – и салон наполнился огнём, взрывом выдавило заднее стекло. Идеальный повод бросить курить.

Результат: 500 зажигалок дают мощный взрыв, если есть источник искры.

Общий вывод: опасность одноразовых зажигалок, газгольдеров в миниатюре, сильно преувеличена. Так же, как и страхи перед автономной газификацией. Мифы остаются мифами.

И рушатся.

 
 
 
13904 
просмотра
 
 
 


Корзина  

Нет продуктов

Всего 0,00 €

Оформить

Поиск по сайту

© 1998-2017 ГК "Терриком". Все права защищены.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Crediting
 X
Закажите обратный звонок

Наш сотрудник позвонит и ответит на ваши вопросы. Это быстро и бесплатно!

Заказать звонок