Polyethylene pipes: some history, characteristics and advantages

HDP pipes
(pic. 68.1 – HDP pipes)

Inventing pipeline the humanity made a grand thing. That was a huge step to home comfort. And then, as usual, that was the time of improvements and searches for the best possible solution.

Organic chemistry allowed to use polymer materials to create pipes. Therefore there appeared the pipes of the XXI century which contained advantages of pipes- predecessors and got completely unique characteristics.

First of all pipelines got out of the fear to be attacked by corrosion which was essential for metal pipes. The second, they significantly lost in weight and facilitated the mounting process for the people. The third and the last step to the perfection were: electrochemical neutrality, high stability to ground currents and noiselessness. Certainly, the pipelines got durability because any engineering system in the city just obliges to operate minimum throughout of all the life-time of maintained objects.


High-density polyethylene (HDP, PE) became the most popular among polymer materials which are used to produce pipes. Solid polymer of white color gained the palm of the victory among thermoplastic polymers and became an ideal solution for pipeline systems of gasification, water supply, canalization and others.

Polyethylene
(68.2 - Polyethylene)

Polyethylene (PE) gracefully blends high stability, sufficient elasticity and «working efficiency» in wide temperature range: -60… +60 °С. Polyethylene is characterized by only slight modification of electrical properties in wide frequency and temperature ranges, low vapor and gas permeability, low permeability for water vapor and water itself. HDP pipes are inactive to the impact of different chemical agents: they don’t react with concentrated alkalis, acids and salt solutions. Polyethylene is safe; it does not separate agents harmful for people. Moreover, the ability to be processed makes PE the cheapest addition plastic.

Operational and research experience determined that HDP pipes can be used during more than 50 years without any mechanical and chemical modifications. Design life is provided by the ability to operate at the temperatures – 40 … +40 °С (exploitation without pressure – till +60 °С).

High elasticity is important characteristics of the pipeline system. Polyethylene pipe can be stretched to 70% without losing its characteristics. This ability is able to make building subsidence not disastrous.

Such kind of properties as fine inside finish of HDP pipes makes the friction insignificant what is ideal for the transportation of the oil.

The factor of «no adhesion» of the deposits to inside surface of the pipes is also important; such the way the inner dimension will never been decreased. This is explained by almost zero dipolar moment of polyethylene pipes.

PE pipes can be connected by any type of welding because the material is perfectly welded obtaining uniformity. Pipe breakage during the test for internal pressure usually occurs out of the welding area.

Similar articles:

  1. Polyethylene pipes: application in the gasification

 

 
 
 
4120 
views
 
 
 


Cart  

No products

Total 0,00 €

Check out

Site Search

© 1998-2017 GC "Terrikom". All rights reserved.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Crediting
 X
Закажите обратный звонок

Наш сотрудник позвонит и ответит на ваши вопросы. Это быстро и бесплатно!

Заказать звонок

Полиэтиленовые трубы: немного истории, характеристики и достоинства

ПНД трубы
(рис. 68.1 – ПНД трубы)

Изобретя трубопровод, человечество совершило великое дело. Это стало огромным шагом к жилищному комфорту. А дальше, как обычно, пришло время усовершенствований и поиска оптимального варианта.

Органическая химия позволила использовать для создания труб полимерные материалы. Так появились трубы 21 века, вобравшие преимущества труб-предшественниц и обретя абсолютно уникальные качества.

В первую очередь трубопроводы избавились от страха коррозии, которым грешили металлические трубы. Во вторую, значительно потеряли в весе и упростили людям процесс монтажа. Третьим и последующими шагами к совершенству стали: электрохимическая нейтральность, высокая устойчивость к блуждающим токам наводки и бесшумность. И, конечно, трубопроводы обрели долговечность, ведь инженерные системы городов просто обязаны нести службу, как минимум, на протяжении всей жизни обслуживаемых объектов.

Из полимерных материалов, применяемых для изготовления труб, наибольшую популярность завоевал полиэтилен низкого давления (ПНД, ПЭ). Твёрдый полимер белого цвета взял пальму первенства среди термопластов, став идеальным решением для трубопроводных систем газификации, водоснабжения, канализации и других.

Полиэтилен
(рис. 68.2 – Полиэтилен)

Полиэтилен (ПЭ) удачно сочетает высокую прочность, достаточную эластичностью и «работоспособность» в обширном температурном диапазоне: -60…+60 °С. Для полиэтилена характерно небольшое изменение электрических свойств в размашистом диапазоне частот и температур, низкая паро- и газопроницаемость, малая проницаемость для водяных паров и воды. Трубы ПНД инертны к воздействию различных химических реагентов: не реагируют с концентрированными щелочами, кислотами и растворами солей. Полиэтилен безопасен, он не выделяет веществ, вредоносных для человека. А способность перерабатываться делает ПЭ самым дешёвым полимеризационным пластиком.

Эксплуатационный и исследовательский опыт установил, что ПНД трубы могут эксплуатироваться более 50 лет без механических и химических изменений. Проектная долговечность обеспечивается способностью работать при температурах -40…+40 °С (эксплуатация без напора – до +60 °С).

Важной характеристикой системы трубопроводов является высокая эластичность. Полиэтиленовая труба может растягиваться до 7%, не теряя своих качеств. Эта характеристика способна сделать не катастрофичной просадку дома.

Такое свойство ПНД труб, как низкая шероховатость внутренней поверхности, делает незначительным трение, что безупречно подходит для транспортировки нефти.

Также важен фактор «не прилипания» отложений к внутренней поверхности труб, вследствие чего не уменьшается внутреннее сечение. Это объясняется практически нулевым дипольным моментом полиэтиленовых труб.

Трубы ПЭ соединяются любыми видами сварки, так как материал отлично сваривается, приобретая однородность. Разрыв трубы при испытании на внутреннее давление, обычно, происходит не по месту сварки.

Похожие статьи:

  1. Полиэтиленовые трубы: применение в газификации
 
 
 
4046 
просмотров
 
 
 


Корзина  

Нет продуктов

Всего 0,00 €

Оформить

Поиск по сайту

© 1998-2017 ГК "Терриком". Все права защищены.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Crediting
 X
Закажите обратный звонок

Наш сотрудник позвонит и ответит на ваши вопросы. Это быстро и бесплатно!

Заказать звонок